A day at the beach

On a Saturday in the not too distant past I met up with a friend of mine and her amazing son, Dom. We decided to meet at a beach just south of Laguna Niguel, Aliso Creek, for a few hours of “Mommy and me” time. Mamí and I completely misjudged the timing and traffic on PCH. Thankfully, both of us were running late. (Seriously? Over 20 minutes to go less than 3 miles? Damn you beautiful California coast, and everyone else who wants to visit you!)

As soon as we finally parked, Mr. Dom decided to jump right in.
IMG_1869

We had to drag him away from the water, sadly.
IMG_1877

He tried to run. (Even though he giggled through his pacifier.)
IMG_1882

(It was at this point we all had to take a break. Dom did his best impersonation of an orchestral conductor. As the waves came up, so did his hands. The waves went away as his arms banished them. For a full 5 minutes, he “conducted” the waves. Sadly, I wasn’t able to capture this, since me, his mom, and cousin were all just giggling over his antics. I know, I know – I’m a bad photographer.)

(We joked that he thought he was channeling Mickey Mouse in Fantasia. That moment? Is fodder for stories for years to come – especially for his first date.) Anyway …

We finally caught the munchkin:
IMG_1902

Dom is at the age that anything that he doesn’t know what it is? Goes directly into his mouth. (I asked Mamí to take the pacifier away. She did. And Dom? Totally didn’t notice the loss. Again, such an AWESOME kid!)

Unfortunately, with the lack of pacifier, he turned to other fixations (mainly, sand).

Poor Mamí (and I, and the prima), had to stifle our laughter.
IMG_1916

The ocean that day was closed to swimming and frolicking, so Flor had to entertain Mr. Dom with stories. Even without his pacifier, both mother and child were having a wonderful time.
IMG_1925
(This photo brings tears to my eyes. There is just so much damn joy evident in it.)

IMG_1927

Mamí had to go rescue Mr. Dom from the contaminated waves. She was very upset that it looked like she wet her pants, and *strongly* cautioned me to not take a picture. As I am one to buck authority, I snapped away. (To this day I stand by my statement that Ms. Florski wet her pants.)

IMG_1971

She had some very strong words for Mr. Dom:
IMG_1992

They soon made up:
IMG_1996

(And though you can’t see Flor, they were both playing in the sand.)
IMG_2386

Flor did NOT partake of the sand buffet, but she and Dom still had a fantastic time.

IMG_2645
(The love was so, so, so evident. Dom’s laughter and Florski’s smile made it so.)

At the end of a long day, full of traffic, poisoned beach, and a photographer lacking in caffeine … all in all? It was a good day.

One full of joy. And love. And tons of kisses.

IMG_2653-2

This entry was posted in Mom and me, Portrait, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

